Other Fees and Expenses
Applied Information Technology (AIT Courses)
AIT rates differ from university rates. For details see the Student and University Billing Office website.
Undergraduate Education Major Student Watermark Fee: $100 one-time
This non-refundable one-time fee for undergraduate education majors will be collected at the first semester of the junior year. Watermark is an assessment management system that is a critical tool supporting our national accreditation process (CAEP)
Graduate Education Major Student Watermark Fee: $120 one-time
This non-refundable one-time fee for graduate education students will be collected at their first semester enrolled as an education graduate student. Watermark is an assessment management system that is a critical tool supporting our national accreditation process (CAEP).
Undergraduate Student Math Placement Fee: $25 per testing
The Department of Mathematics requires all first year and some transfer students to take ALEKS PPL to ensure that they are placed in an appropriate first math course at TU. This non-refundable fee will be charged each time after a student takes the ALEKS PPL test.
Educative Teacher Performance Assessment (edTPA) fee: $300 one-time
This non-refundable one-time $300 fee is assessed for the the Educative Teacher Performance Assessment (edTPA). It is a performance-based assessment used to determine if teacher education candidates have the performance skills necessary to be a beginning level teacher.
Student and University Billing Office Fees
A $150 late fee is assessed to any student who does not pay in full or establish an official payment plan with TU by the bill payment deadline found on their eBill or on the Student and University Billing Office website. Payment of a student’s term bill secures their class schedule for a term; otherwise, cancellation of their class schedule may occur.
A $110 new student orientation fee is assessed to undergraduate freshman and transfer students enrolling for the first time. This fee covers the costs associated with orientation, including preparation, materials, publications, catered meals and parking. The fee also covers Welcome to Towson. The mandatory, one-time fee is assessed regardless of enrollment or Orientation attendance and is nonrefundable. Excluded from this charge are students who will exclusively attend the Towson University Northeastern Campus or any other Satellite location apart from the main campus.
A $10 Archived Records Research Fee will be assessed when financial detail involving archived records is requested.
A $50 penalty fee is assessed when a check or eCheck/ACH payment for fees, fines or services is returned unpaid by the bank for any reason. Failure to reimburse TU for an uncollectable check or eCheck/ACH may result in class schedules being cancelled.
A $25 penalty fee is assessed when a credit card payment for fees, fines or services is returned unpaid by the credit card company for any reason. Failure to reimburse TU for an uncollectable credit card may result in class schedules being cancelled.
A $25 late collection fee will be assessed should an account become delinquent and deemed uncollectable, thus requiring referral to the Central Collection Unit of the State of Maryland. This fee is in addition to the collection fee assessed by the Central Collection Unit of the State of Maryland. See Payment of Fees.
A $25 reissue check fee will be assessed to process a stop payment for a check the Student and University Billing Office has to reissue.
Beginning in the spring 2020 term, a differential tuition charge in addition to tuition applies for all new, incoming students at junior or senior standing with declared majors in the following areas: College of Business and Economics (CBE); Department of Computer and Information Sciences; and Department of Nursing.
The following policies apply to graduate students taking a mix of undergraduate and graduate courses and TU seniors taking a graduate course (with special permission):
- If a graduate student takes a mix of graduate and undergraduate courses and the undergraduate unit load is fewer than 12 units, the individual is to be billed per unit in each category, plus part-time university fees.
- If the undergraduate unit load is 12 or more units, the flat undergraduate tuition rate and full-time university fees are billed, with the graduate units billed at the per unit graduate tuition rate.
The following policy applies to graduate students taking all undergraduate courses: If the unit load of undergraduate courses is 12 units or more, the individual is to be billed the flat undergraduate tuition and the flat full-time university fees.
Health Insurance Plan for U.S. Citizens
TU offers a voluntary health insurance plan designed especially for our students. This plan meets all requirements of the Affordable Care Act at a very reasonable price, for students who are not covered by their parents’ plan or another plan. All students on intercollegiate athletic teams, as well as health professions students (nursing, occupational therapy and physician assistant programs), are required to have health insurance. However, we strongly recommend that all students have health insurance to avoid the expense of large, unexpected medical bills. The school-sponsored plan is an excellent value that should be considered by any student needing insurance. It provides primary care services through TU’s Health Center, as well as coverage for prescription medications, hospitalization, emergency care, diagnostic tests, and referrals to a large network of participating specialists. Billing statements will not reflect the cost of the insurance. Enrollment is handled directly through the insurance company and can be done online (see the Student Health Insurance link on the Health Center website). Undergraduates must be taking at least 9 units to be eligible for this plan. Should a student withdraw from TU after 31 days or more of active class attendance, coverage will remain intact for the policy year. Any questions regarding coverage should be directed to the Health Center, 410-704-3703. See Health Insurance under Health Services, Student Life, and Campus Services or visit the Health Center website.
Health Insurance Policy Mandatory for International Students
All international students on F, J or any other non-employment-related visa status are required to have health insurance that meets TU’s minimum standards. These students are automatically enrolled in the university-sponsored health insurance plan. The insurance charge will be reflected on your financial account. Although this insurance is mandatory, students with their own insurance who want an exemption (waiver) from the school plan must submit an online waiver application as soon as they arrive at TU, which verifies that their insurance coverage meets TU’s minimum standards. Applications for a waiver must be completed online by the waiver deadline of the student’s first term at TU and each fall term thereafter. Waiver deadlines are September 15 for fall term, February 15 for spring term and June 15 for summer term. For information about school-sponsored insurance, TU’s mandatory insurance policy for international students, or the waiver process, visit our website and click on International Students. For assistance with insurance enrollment or the waiver process, schedule an appointment with our Insurance Coordinator by calling 410-704-4543.
Housing and Dining Fees
Students interested in living in TU housing must make a $350 non-refundable housing deposit by the established procedures and meet all deadlines. Failure to pay all room and meal plan charges may result in forfeiture of residence hall space. Note: Students living in Millennium Hall, Harris Hall or Tubman House have a separate application, deposit, and payment process with Capstone Management.
Depending upon the room and meal plan selected, students living on campus pay approximately $3,050 per term for room and a meal plan. For those students who enter TU housing after the beginning of a term, the charge will be prorated for the remainder of the term. (For exact rates, contact Housing and Residence Life, or visit the Housing website for more information.)
Choosing a Dining Plan
Students can choose from a variety of flexible dining plans. Resident students can choose from one of our “Flex” weekly plans, offering anywhere from 10 to unlimited meals per week. A meal week consists of 19 meal periods: three meals served Monday through Friday, and brunch and dinner served on Saturday and Sunday. Most resident students select the 14-meal-per-week plan, as it provides enough meals to eat at least two times per day for seven days a week. Dining plans also come with dining points which can be used for a-la-cart purchases at all on-campus dining locations. There are over a dozen dining venues on campus including all-you-care-to-eat dining facilities, a-la-carte locations such as Chick-fil-a and convenience stores. Menu options range from traditional favorites to vegetarian, kosher, and halal cuisine. Students living at 10 West on floors 6-15, Millennium, Harris Hall, Tubman, Barnes Hall, Marshall, Towson Run Apartments, or in nearby apartments, as well as commuter students, are not required to have a dining plan. However, these students may choose to purchase any of our dining plans, including one of the very popular Block Meal Plans. Please visit the Dining website for more information.
Millennium Hall, and Harris Hall and Tubman Houses
These student housing facilities are privately operated and rents are not included as part of TU’s term billing statement. Rents for Millennium Hall, Harris Hall and Tubman House are to be paid to Capstone Management.
International Student Services Fee
This non-refundable $125 per semester fee will be charged each semester to all enrolled international students who are on F-1 and certain J-1 visas (excluding students enrolled in the English Language Center and/or international students funded by their governments and/or international students who are under exchange agreements).
Nursing Education Fees
Educational Testing Fees
Students enrolled in the basic/pre-licensure nursing major are charged fees to cover the costs of educational testing and remediation software used throughout the nursing program. There is a one-time fee of $75 which grants students access to clinical judgment remediation software required throughout the program. This is a one-time fee charged at the start of the program and guarantees access for the duration of the student’s enrollment in the program. There is also an annual fee of $148.21 which covers the costs of education testing software used throughout the program and standardized clinical judgment examinations administered at the end of each term. This fee is charged in the first terms of the junior & senior year of the program. Testing fees are attached to clinical-adjacent theory courses.
Simulation Learning Fee
Students enrolled in the basic/pre-licensure nursing major are charged a one-time fee of $204.99 to cover the costs of simulation learning tools required throughout the program. This fee is attached to the nursing foundations clinical course in the first term.
Fees are non-refundable after the change of schedule period. Fees may be subject to change each term. If a course is repeated, fees may be re-assessed. The nursing educational fees do not apply to nursing students enrolled in the degree completion options (ATB or RN-to-BS).
All students are required to register their vehicles with TU in order to obtain a virtual parking permit. Parking permits are required 6 a.m.-8 p.m., Monday-Thursday and 6 a.m.–3 p.m. on Friday. Spaces will be available for those with a valid TU parking permit. However, during peak times in the day, spaces may only be available in Overflow areas, which are located in designated areas at the Stadium Lots near SECU Arena and Johnny Unitas Stadium and the West Village Garage. Resident freshmen (29 or less earned units) may not have a vehicle on campus unless an exception is granted. To view exceptions and rules, please visit Parking & Transportation Services website. https://www.towson.edu/parking/student/residential.html. Freshman commuters and non-degree students are only eligible to purchase an Overflow permit. Further information about parking policies is available on the Parking and Transportation website. www.towson.edu/parking.
Virtual parking permits must be purchased through the eParking Portal online. Campus maps and other parking-related information are also available at this website. TU parking permits are virtual, so no physical hangtag will be mailed or required to picked up. Virtual parking permits are linked to the vehicle(s) registered to each TU Affiliates parking account, so please be certain to enter your license plate information accurately when purchasing your permit online. You may only register a vehicle that is registered to you or a family member at the same address. Students may not register another student, faculty member or staff member’s vehicle to their parking account. Each student must have their own permit. Student parking permits for the upcoming academic year go on sale in late July/early August and will be available throughout the year. For permit fees, questions, or additional information about the Virtual Permit System, visit the Parking website. www.towson.edu/parking.
PDS / Student Teaching / Clinical Practicum Fees
Students enrolled in PDS internship or a clinical practicum are charged a fee. Students must confer with their department chair or with the director of the CPP Office in the College of Education to determine the exact fee. These courses are designated PRC, STT and CIN.
Private Applied Music Lesson Fees
Students enrolled in private applied composition lessons, Jazz/Commercial composition lessons, private applied instrumental music lessons, private applied vocal music lessons, or private applied conducting lessons are charged a fee of $125 or $325 per unit, depending upon the music degree requirements and course registration.
Study Abroad/Away Fees
A fee of $360 for the fall and spring terms, $190 for short-term programs is assessed for study abroad/away (excluding the National Student Exchange.)
Students are expected to obtain required Course Materials. The average cost for Course Materials ranges from $250-$500 per term. Books and other supplies may be purchased or rented at the University Store, located in the University Union, first floor. Course Materials may also be purchased online. Course material price matching, On-line price comparison and textbook advances are available to all students.